Skip to content
May 29, 2014 / Charlie McNabb

Primary and Secondary Sources Infographic

As I discussed in previous posts, I’m very interested in information literacy instruction and am eager to practice and improve.  I’ve been brainstorming topics for digital learning objects and just finished my first infographic, a one-page pdf describing the difference between primary and secondary sources and giving examples of each.

Here’s my rationale for how I designed it: I chose sans-serif fonts and made text black with light-colored backgrounds for ease of reading. I tried my best to keep the definitions short, easy to understand, and relevant, and made them pop by putting them in rounded boxes. I chose interesting photographs as examples, and used alt text to describe each image for folks using screen readers (or anybody interested in learning more about the images). I used eye-catching arrows to demonstrate how different kinds of researchers use primary sources to create secondary sources.

Here’s the infographic: Primary and Secondary Sources Infographic. Feel free to print and use in your classroom or archive, or share via the Internet (link back to this blog, please!). And please give me critique- if you didn’t know what primary and secondary sources were, did this infograph help? Do you have any confusion? If you already knew what primary and secondary sources were, do you think this infographic explained the concept well? How do you like it visually? Is it accessible? If you used it with your students, was it helpful for them? Any feedback will help me improve!

Leave a Reply

