Skip to content
July 11, 2014 / Charlie McNabb

Postpartum Depression Resource Guide

In my quest to hone my skills with digital learning objects, I volunteered to create a resource guide for WellMama, a Eugene/Springfield, OR nonprofit that provides perinatal mental health support to area families. The site already has a wide range of resources available, so I focused on current books. I created a book list as well as research tips to guide folks to locating similar books and other resources.

I published it yesterday. Take a look! http://www.wellmamaoregon.com/recommended-books/

Creating this guide was an educational experience. I had no prior academic or research experience with psychology topics, so I had to dive in and educate myself (as librarians do). I browsed bibliographies and course syllabi, located a few good sources, and skimmed them to determine what makes a good perinatal mood and anxiety disorders resource. I spoke with the Executive Director to ascertain the audience(s) as well as organization-specific language. For example, WellMama uses the term “veteran” rather than “survivor” to describe parents who have experienced perinatal mood and anxiety disorders.

I decided to organize by genre rather than by audience, so as not to discourage parents from looking at clinical resources. I found a very wide variety of excellent resources, but rather than overwhelm readers, I kept the recommended book list fairly short. I weeded sources that had repetitive information, retaining the one that was more current, cited more often, or had a better-known author. To help readers locate more resources, I listed the relevant Dewey Decimal System and Library of Congress ranges, as well as a handful of subject headings.

This was a fun and interesting project. I’m pleased to have been able to help a local organization that I have great respect for, and to practice a skill that I enjoy. Do let me know if you have any comments about the guide or book recommendations I should consider!

Leave a Reply

