Skip to content
April 23, 2016 / Charlie McNabb

Bridgewater Triangle Primary Sources

When I left Oregon, I was sad to leave Bigfoot behind. I’m delighted to discover that I’m now living right next to the Bridgewater Triangle, a site of paranormal activities including ghosts, UFOs, thunderbirds, and yes—Bigfoot! I spent some time last weekend at the Old Bridgewater Historical Society looking over their Hockomock Swamp (the spookiest area within the Triangle) and Bridgewater Triangle files.

The newspaper clippings and maps I pored over told a fascinating story: In 1978, Joseph DeAndrade had his first Bigfoot sighting in Hockomock Swamp. In 1985, he formed the Bridgewater Triangle Expedition Team (BTET) with Tony Rose and Mike Foster, two other witnesses. The team explored Hockomock Swamp and had several close encounters until 1989, when DeAndrade disbanded the group because of a terrifying sighting that convinced him the swamp was full of evil spirits.

Newspaper article with headline: "Bigfoot in Bridgewater?"

The first BTET expedition was celebrated in the local newspaper.

I’m grateful to the staff at Old Bridgewater Historical Society for pulling these files for me and telling me some of the history of the area. For anyone living nearby, I recommend a visit. They have some really beautiful artifacts and records as far back as the original purchase of the land.

Leave a Reply

