Skip to content
July 31, 2016 / Charlie McNabb

Universal Design for Learning Workshop

An open laptop next to a pad of paper and pen. Beyond, but out of focus, is a whiteboard with writing and sticky notes.

I recently had the opportunity to present a workshop on Universal Design for Learning. As an instruction librarian, I create a lot of learning material for my students: worksheets, digital learning objects, presentations, and more. It’s important to me that that material is accessible to the widest possible range of learners, so I use Universal Design best practices when I’m preparing materials.

In the workshop, I explained what Universal Design for Learning is, demonstrated some examples of inaccessible learning materials, and then discussed best practices. I also created a best practices document to guide faculty and my fellow instruction librarians as we create text documents, slideshows, websites, etc.

I’m sharing here in the hope that more folks think about accessibility in teaching and learning. Please share and reuse these! And check out the further resources; I didn’t come up with this on my own.

UDL_AccessibleLearningMaterials_BestPractices

UDLFurtherResources

Leave a Reply

