Skip to content
March 18, 2017 / Charlie McNabb

New Steven McNabb Photo Accessions

I’ve received some of my father’s old fieldwork photos from my mother Marianne McNabb and some old family photos featuring my father from my aunt Christine Stoker-Polk, to add to the Steven McNabb Collection.

There are 23 fieldwork photos dated from 1978 to 1983, taken in Chukotka and Kamchatka. They mostly feature subsistence work (sea mammal hunting and processing) and village architecture. Judging from the penciled captions on the backs, most of them seem to have been given to my father by his colleague Alexander (Sasha) Pika.

Two men in a small motorboat with three walruses tied to the sides and floating in the water.

Here’s Sasha (left) with an unknown associate in Chukotka in 1983, with three walruses.

There are 17 family photos featuring my father, taken between 1977 and c.1990 in Alaska. Most involve cooking, eating, or outdoor activities.

A toddler and man holding hands and walking down a sparse forest path, taken from behind.

Here’s my father and I taking a walk c.1986.

Leave a Reply

